Wednesday, March 21, 2012

Calls for submission: ANA 2012 Literary Prizes

Following the conclusion of the review of ANA Prizes, the national executive council hereby announces the call for entries for the 2012 edition of the literary competition. After a thorough study of the report submitted by the ANA Prizes Review Committee, it was found necessary to suspend some prizes as a result of lack of redemption of cash by the sponsors, expiration of the existing engagement without renewal, or voluntary termination of sponsorship by the endowers. The suspension which is for a year will enable the association meet with the affected sponsors to discuss the possibility of renewal and upgrade. The period will also allow the association to redeem the backlog of cash prizes owed winners over the years without piling up additional liabilities.

Nigerian writers, home and abroad, who have and are willing to enter their new works for the Annual Literary Prizes, may now do so. Interested creative writers should send six copies (6) of their entries, (specifying the category being entered for) alongside a covering letter to:

The General Secretary,
Association of Nigerian Authors (ANA),
c/o Suite 63,
National Theatre Complex,
Iganmu, Lagos

The covering letter should contain complete contact details of the writer or/and publisher of the work, including email and surface mail addresses with telephone numbers.

ANA will not take responsibility for entries sent by post nor will it claim registered parcels in cases where it has to pay for such claims.

The entries, which can be for any or several (where applicable) of the following categories, must not have been entered for the same prize prior to the present entry and must have been published between 2011 and 2012:

ANA/Chevron Prose Prize on Environmental Issues (Prose) $2,000.00(published works only).

ANA/Esiaba Irobi Prize for Playwrighting. N50, 000.00 (published & unpublished works).

ANA/Lantern Books Prize for Children’s Fiction N100, 000.00 (unpublished works only, Ages 8 – 15). Winning entry to be published by Lantern Books.

ANA Prize for Poetry (published) – N100, 000

ANA Prize for Prose Fiction (Published) – N100, 000

ANA Prize for Drama (Published) – N100, 000

ANA Prize for Literary Journalism – N100, 000 (Deadline: September 30, 2012)

ANA/NECO Teen Author Prize (prose) N100, 000.00 (published & unpublished works).

ANA/Mazariyya Teen Author Prize (poetry) N50, 000.00 (published & unpublished works).

SPECIFIC GUIDELINES for Teen Authors Prize (published and unpublished works).

1. Entrants must be students in any secondary school in Nigeria.

2. Entries must be a collection or a single story of between 35 – 40 pages for prose or poetry.

3. Illustration (optional).

4. Accompanying documents are:

(i) Letter of identification from school principal on letterhead and signed by the principal.

(ii) Two passport photographs, name, and birth certificate of the entrant.

(iii) Entrant's school admission letter (photocopy).

(iv) Current cumulative record of entrant’s academic performance (junior or

secondary school).

(v) Letter of consent from parents.

(vi) Entrant’s email, and surface mail address with phone number.

5. Unpublished entries (in four copies) should be properly bound.

Deadline for the receipt of ALL entries for the 2012 ANA Literary Prizes is May 15, 2012. A shortlist will be announced in early October, 2012.

Winners of the prizes will be announced by the judges at the Awards Dinner in Uyo, Akwa Ibom State at the 31st International Annual Convention of ANA in October, 2012.

For submissions: The General Secretary,
Association of Nigerian Authors (ANA), c/o Suite 63,
National Theatre Complex, Iganmu, Lagos

No comments:

Post a Comment