Tuesday, November 9, 2010

Golden Baobab Prize Winners Named

Accra, November 9, 2010 - The 2010 winners of the Golden Baobab Prize, a leading African literary award, have been announced. This year Lauri Kubuitsile of Botswana, Mirirai Moyo of Zimbabwe and Ahmed Farah of Kenya were selected as the distinguished winners by a prestigious panel of judges. They join the growing circle of promising authors chosen by The Golden Baobab Prize, which is the only prize of its kind: it is awarded annually to inspire the creation of quality African literature to be enjoyed by youth readers all around the world. The prize offers a monetary award to its winners and connects outstanding stories with an array of African and international publishers. 

This year, Kubuitsile's Mechanic’s Son won her the Golden Baobab Prize for the best story written for ages 12-15 years.  Moyo’s Diki, the Little Earthworm was named the Golden Baobab Prize for the best story written for ages 8-11 years and Farah's Letters from the Flames, earned him the Golden Baobab Rising Writer Award which is given to young writer 18 years and below who shows exceptional literary promise for his/her age.

The 2010 Golden Baobab Prize shortlist for Category A (stories targeted at readers 8-11 years) features:
·       Dorothy Dyer (South Africa), War Stories  
·       Gothataone Moeng (Botswana), The Rainmakers of Botalaote
·       Lauri Kubuitsile (Botswana), Lightning and Thunderers 

The 2010 Golden Baobab Prize shortlist for Category B (stories targeted at readers 12-15 years):
·       Jenny Robson (South Africa), Only the Stones Still Cry
·       Patrick Ochieng (Kenya), Neighbours

Among the renowned Golden Baobab Prize panel of judges sit esteemed Ghanaian publisher Nana Ayebia Clarke, critically acclaimed Kenyan author Muthoni Garland, two-time former President of the Hans Christian Anderson Award jury Jay Heale, multi prize-winning children’s author and illustrator Meshack Asare, highly regarded Nigerian publisher Bibi Bakare-Yusuf and Global Fund for Children Books Director Cynthia Pon.

 This is the second time Kubuitsile has won the Golden Baobab Prize: in 2008/2009 she was selected to be the winner for her story Lorato and her Wire Car. Last year   Ivor W. Hartmann won as well for his story Mr. Goop. Vivilia Publishing in South Africa has since published both of these winning stories. In that same year, 18 year-old Kenyan Aisha Kibwana won with her story The Strange Visitors That Took Her Life Away, earning her the Golden Baobab Rising Writer Award. She shares the honor now with fellow Kenyan, 16 year-old Farah.

No comments:

Post a Comment