Sunday, May 9, 2010

2010 Caine Prize Shortlist

The 2010 Caine Prize Shortlist has been announced.

The 2010 shortlist comprises:

Ken Barris (S Africa) 'The Life of Worm' from 'New Writing from Africa 2009', published by Johnson & King James Books, Cape Town

Lily Mabura (Kenya) 'How Shall We Kill the Bishop?’ from ‘Wasafiri’ No53, Spring 2008

Namwali Serpell (Zambia) 'Muzungu' from 'The Best American Short Stories 2009', published by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, Boston MA

Alex Smith (S Africa) 'Soulmates' from 'New Writing from Africa 2009' published by Johnson & King James Books, Cape Town

Olufemi Terry (Sierra Leone) 'Stickfighting Days' from ‘Chimurenga’ vol 12/13, Cape Town 2008

The chair of judges is Fiammetta Rocco. The other judges are Ellah Allfrey,Granta's deputy editor , Professor Jon Cook of the University of East Anglia, and Georgetown University professor Samantha Pinto.

Last year the Caine Prize was won by Nigerian writer EC Osondu for his short story ‘Waiting.’ This year, there is no Nigerian in the shortlist.The shortlisted writers will be reading from their work at the Royal Over-Seas League on Friday, 2 July at 7pm.Once again the winner of the £10,000 Caine Prize will be given the opportunity of taking up a month’s residence at Georgetown University, Washington DC, as a ‘Caine Prize/Georgetown University Writer-in-Residence’. The award will cover all travel and living expenses.

1 comment: