Wednesday, August 11, 2010

2010 Arvon International Poetry Competition

The 2010 Arvon International Poetry Competition is now open for entries. This prestigious biennial poetry competition was founded by Ted Hughes in 1980 and is one of the UK’s most important open poetry competitions. This year the first prize has increased to £7,500 – the highest ever offered in the competition and one of the most generous prizes available for a single poem. There’s also a special prize of £500, offered in association with The Wenlock Poetry Festival, for the best poem on the theme ‘The Pity of War...’

The competition will be judged by Britain’s Poet Laureate Carol Ann Duffy, with Elaine Feinstein and Sudeep Sen. It’s open to anyone aged 16 or over, from any country. Poems must be written in English, on any subject, and can be a maximum of 42 lines in length. Previous winners include former Poet Laureate Andrew Motion, Don Paterson and Si├ón Hughes.

Deadline: August 16, 2010

More info here

No comments:

Post a Comment