Friday, August 12, 2011

5 Writers, One Evening: Jalaa Writers Reading

You've read their interviews; you've read their book excerpts; you've read the book reviews; you've joined the Jalaa Facebook Page. Now, is the time for a book reading with the Jalaa Writers Collective as they read from their works; address questions about publishing in Nigeria and what a Writers' Collective may offer, what Jalaa Writers Collective offers. So, here's your chance to meet 5Jalaa Writers in one place at the same time, real life not online. The event is FREE!

Date: Saturday August 13, 2011

Time: 3pm

Venue: Freedom Park, Broad Street, Opposite General Hospital, Lagos (just a bike from TBS or CMS)

Readings by:

A. Igoni Barrett, one-time editor of Farafina Magazine is the recipient of a Chinua Achebe Center Fellowship, a Norman Mailer Center Fellowship and a Rockefeller Foundation Bellagio Center Residency. His first book, the story collection From Caves of Rotten Teeth, was published in 2005 in Nigeria. His second story collection is forthcoming from Graywolf Press in 2013.

Akachi Adimora-Ezeigbo is a lecturer, writer, novelist, critic, essayist, journalist, and administrator. She has written over twenty books. Her latest work Roses and Bullets, published by Jalaa Writers’ Collective is about the Nigerian Civil War. The former winner of the NLNG Prize for Literature, the biggest prize for literature in Nigeria, heads the Prize’s panel of judges this year.

Jude Dibia is the author of Walking With Shadows, Unbridled (winner of the 2007 NDDC/ANA sponsored Ken Saro-Wiwa Prize for Prose and finalist in the 2007 NLNG Nigeria Prize for Literature) and the newest, Blackbird.

Odili Ujubuonu is the award winning author of Pregnancy of the Gods (Winner, 2006 ANA/Jacaranda Prize for Prose), Treasure in the Winds (winner, 2008 ANA/Chevron Prize on Environmental Issues) and the newest, Pride of the Spider Clan.

Uche Peter Umez is one of the 24 winners of the 2006 and 2008 Commonwealth Short Story Competition. No, he is not the actor. He is the winner of the 2006 ANA/Funtime Prize for Children Literature for his unpublished novel," Sam and the Wallet, and 2008 ANA/Funtime Prize for Children Literature . He is the author of Dark through the Delta (poems), Tears in Her Eyes" (short stories) and "Aridity of Feelings" (poems). His latest work "The Runaway Hero" is on the NLNG Prize shortlist for 2011.

No comments:

Post a Comment